Turkish Parliament to discuss immunity of 29 more opposition deputies

HDP deputy Osman Baydemir and CHP deputy Mahmut Tanal.

Dossiers for 29 more opposition deputies from the pro-Kurdish Peoples’ Democratic Party (HDP) and the Republican People’s Party (CHP) have been submitted to a commission in the Turkish Parliament to discuss whether their immunity from prosecution should be removed or not.

According to a state-run Anadolu news agency story on Sunday, the Constitution and Justice Joint Commission will discuss the removal of immunity for 29 more deputies, including 22 from the HDP and seven from the main opposition CHP.

Anadolu said 43 summaries of proceedings submitted to the commission include dossiers for jailed HDP deputy Pervin Buldan and HDP Co-chair Selahattin Demirtaş.

Currently, 11 HDP deputies are in jail on charges of terrorist links.

The immunity of all deputies who face investigations was lifted in May 2016.

Most recently CHP deputy Enis Berberoğlu in June was sentenced to 25 years in prison for leaking information for a report on National Intelligence Organization (MİT) trucks transporting weapons to jihadists in Syria.

The arrest of Berberoğlu, who would normally enjoy parliamentary immunity, was possible because the CHP and Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) had lent support to a proposal submitted by the ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP) on removing deputies’ immunity from prosecution last year.

Deputies whose immunities will be discussed in the parliamentary commission are: CHP İstanbul deputy Aykut Erdoğdu, HDP Van deputy Tuğba Hezer Öztürk, HDP Diyarbakır deputy İmam Taşçıer, HDP Bingöl deputy Hişyar Özsoy, HDP Şırnak deputy Leyla Birlik, HDP Batman deputy Saadet Becerekli, HDP Van deputy Bedia Özgökçe Ertan, HDP Van deputy Nadir Yıldırım, HDP Batman deputy Mehmet Ali Aslan, HDP Şanlıurfa deputy Dilek Öcalan, HDP Mardin deputy Gülser Yıldırım, HDP Batman deputy Ayşe Acar Başaran, HDP Hakkari deputy Selma Irmak, HDP Iğdır deputy Mehmet Emin Adıyaman, CHP Sakarya deputy Engin Özkoç, CHP Kocaeli deputy Tahsin Tarhan, CHP İstanbul deputy Mahmut Tanal, CHP Manisa deputy Tur Yıldız Biçer, HDP Diyarbakır deputy Ziya Pir, HDP Adana deputy Meral Danış Beştaş, CHP İzmir deputy Ahmet Tuncay Özkan, HDP Siirt deputy Besime Konca, HDP Şırnak deputy Aycan İrmez, HDP İzmir deputy Ertuğrul Kürkcü, HDP Diyarbakır deputy Sibel Yiğitalp, CHP İstanbul deputy İlhan Cihaner, HDP Şanlıurfa deputy Osman Baydemir, HDP Adıyaman deputy Behçet Yıldırım, HDP Şanlıurfa deputy İbrahim Ayhan. (turkishminute.com) July 17, 2017

Take a second to support Stockholm Center for Freedom on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!