New curfews declared in southeastern Turkey

The Diyarbakır Governor’s Office announced on Friday that a curfew has been declared in eight villages and their hamlets in the Dicle district of Turkey’s southeastern Diyarbakır province “until further notice,” Bianet reported on Friday.

The reason for the curfew, which went into effect at 6 a.m. on March 1, has been announced as a military operation that will be conducted against the outlawed Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) in the region. The announcement did not mention when the curfew would end.

The curfew will be in effect in the villages of Boğaz, Kayıköy, Kurşunlu, Yokuşlu, Kırkpınar, Boğazköy, Gelincik and Baltacı and their hamlets.

According to a report published by the Human Rights Foundation of Turkey (TIHV), 204 curfews have been declared in Diyarbakır province since August 16, 2015. (SCF with Bianet)

Take a second to support Stockholm Center for Freedom on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!