Curfew declared in 11 villages of Turkey’s Batman province

Turkish authorities on Tuesday declared a curfew in 11 villages of the Kozluk and Silvan districts in Batman province, going into effect at 6 p.m. that evening.

According to a statement from the Batman Governor’s Office, the curfew was declared due to security operations against terrorist groups in the villages of Gümüşörgü, Hasanko, Bisira, Karameşe, Ramazan, Orta Mahalle, Kelhasan, Binönü, Kilimli, Aşağıkilimli and Yoncadüzü.

A report published in December 2016 by Amnesty International said at least half a million people were displaced in Turkey’s predominantly Kurdish Southeast as a consequence of long-term curfews and crackdowns, which forced residents to flee. ( June 14, 2017

Take a second to support Stockholm Center for Freedom on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!