1,809,000 people affected by 332 curfews declared by Turkish gov’t in 3 years

People walk by the bombed buildings after the months long curfew in Turkey’s southeastern province of Şırnak.

The Turkish government led by President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan has declared at least 332 curfews in the predominantly Kurdish southeastern part of Turkey since August 16, 2015, according to the most recent report released by the Human Rights Foundation of Turkey (TİHV) on Monday.

TİHV’s report said Diyarbakır, with 190 curfews, was the province with the greatest number of curfews. The TİHV Documentation Center has also stated that 332 curfews were declared in 11 provinces and at least 50 districts from August 16, 2015, to October 1, 2018.

The provinces in which curfews were declared were Diyarbakır (190), Mardin (53), Hakkari (23), Şırnak (13), Bitlis (18), Muş (7), Bingöl (7), Siirt (7), Tunceli (6), Batman (6) and Elazığ (2).

According to TİHV’s report, at least 1,809,000 people have been affected by the curfews.

Take a second to support Stockholm Center for Freedom on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!